POLAR NOTES
27 February - 1 March

Second part | double concert

Su 1 March 2020 | 17:00

Sogesong Duo

Norwegian ballads

Øyonn Groven Myhren et Anne Hytta are the bearers of a culture ingrained in the traditional music of Telemark. Øyonn grew up in a family where the tradition of the ballad (kveding) is still very much alive and belongs to a unique lineage. Anne learned to play the hardingfele violin with the greatest teachers of Telemark, who taught her a bow technique and a particular type of melodic ornamentation. With their duo Sogesong, the two musicians initiated an original dialogue that pays the greatest respect to the patrimony.

To this end, they use copies and reconstitutions of medieval instruments, such as the fidla with bowed strings and a lyre of seven strings, a copy of an instrument recently rediscovered on a farm in the south east of Norway. ‘A far away world’ – an extraordinary one – flourishes once more with astonishing youth.

-----------------------------------------

The name Anna Hytta is at the forefront of traditional Norwegian violin. A prodigious violinist, she is an improviser and composer who handles traditional heritage in an original and inventive manner. Her style plays out in the finesse of structure and traditional Norwegian tunes that she has at the tip of her fingers, which she colours with the consummate art of ornamentation.

Particularly interested in modal music, Anne Hytta also participates in projects centred on mediaeval music and the diverse world traditions. Accordingly, she plays with musicians born in Eastern Europe, Middle East, India, Tanzania, Brazil and so on. This interest was recognised with a grant from the Fond for utøvende kunstnere (Fund for performance artists), which allowed her to go and study with the famous Cretan musician Ross Daly.

Øyonn  Groven Myhren is the  daughter of the legendary kveder (singer of ballads or kveding) and researcher Dagne Groven Myhren, and the linguist Magne Myhren. She is also the granddaughter of the Norwegian composer, organist, music editor and ethnomusicologist Eivind Groven (1901-1977). She is part of a notable line and, in this regard, enjoys a certain status amongst the traditional musicians of her country. She is a reputed singer and also plays the lyre and the seljefløyte (willow flute). In addition to Norwegian folk music, she participates in numerous mediaeval music concerts, notably with the group Aurora Borealis.

date

Su 1 March 2020 | 17:00

Online tickets

OTHERS SELLING POINTS

Service culturel Migros Genève
Stand Info Balexert
Migros Nyon-La Combe

On the spot, 1 heure before the concert

 

FEES

Full price : 25.-

Reduced price : Adhérents ADEM, AMR, SAMEG, Barbier-Mueller, ONU, professionnels, étudiants, apprentis, chômeurs, AVS/AI, carte côté Courrier : 20.-

20 ans/20 francs card holders : 15.-


ENQUIRIES
T : +41 (0) 22 919 04 94
info@adem.ch

 

Alhambra
10, rue de la Rôtisserie, Genève

FOOD & DRINKS           
Saveurs du Monde

 

Concert recorded by Espace 2

 

Download the Concert program Notes : Norwegian Ballads

Others concerts

NOTES POLAIRES
27 février - 1 mars

Deuxième partie | double concert

di 1 mars 2020 | 17:00 | Alhambra

DUO SOGESONG

Ballades norvégiennes

Øyonn Groven Myhren et Anne Hytta sont porteuses de cultures enracinées dans la musique traditionnelle du Télémark (sud-est de la Norvège). Øyonn a grandi dans une famille où la tradition de la ballade (kveding) est toujours vivante et elle appartient à une filiation tout à fait unique. Anne a appris à jouer du violon hardingfele auprès des meilleurs maîtres des villages du Télémark qui lui ont transmis une technique d’archet et d’ornementation mélodique bien spécifique. Avec leur duo Sogesong, les deux musiciennes ont entâmé un dialogue tout à fait original  qui témoigne du plus grand respect envers le patrimoine.

À cet effet, elles utilisent des copies et des reconstitutions d'instruments médiévaux, tels que le fidla à cordes frottées et une lyre à sept cordes, copie d’un instrument retrouvé ces dernières années dans une ferme du sud-est de la Norvège… « Tout un monde lointain » et inouï qui ressurgit avec une étonnante jeunesse.

 

Anne Hytta : hardingfele (violon traditionnel norvégien)

Øyonn Groven Myhren : voix, fidla (vièle), lyre

-------------

Le nom de Anne Hytta s’impose en  première ligne au sein du monde du violon traditionnel norvégien, hardingfele. Violoniste prodige, elle est une improvisatrice et une compositrice qui assume de manière fort inventive et originale l’héritage traditionnel. Son style se joue avec finesse des structures strictes des airs traditionnels norvégiens qu’elle connaît sur le bout des doigts, et qu’elle nuance avec un art consommé de l’ornementation.

Particulièrement intéressée par les musiques modales, Anne Hytta participe également à des projets autour de la musique savante médiévale et de diverses traditions du monde. Elle joue ainsi avec des musicien.ne.s d’Europe de l’Est, du Moyen-Orient, d’Inde, de Tanzanie, du Brésil etc. Cet intérêt s’est vu reconnu par l’attribution d’une bourse du Fond for utøvende kunstnere (Fonds pour les artistes du spectacle) qui lui a permis d’aller étudier auprès du fameux musicien crétois Ross Daly.

Øyonn  Groven Myhren est la fille du légendaire kveder (chanteur de ballades ou kveding) et chercheur en littérature Dagne Groven Myhren et de la linguiste Magne Myhren. Elle est également la petite-fille du compositeur, organiste, éditeur de musique et ethnomusicologue norvégien Eivind Groven (1901-1977). Elle s’inscrit ainsi dans une véritable lignée et, à ce titre, jouit d’un statut de choix au sein du monde des musiques traditionnelles de son pays. Elle est une chanteuse réputée et joue également de la lyre et de la seljefløyte (flûte de saule). En plus de la musique folk norvégienne, elle a participé à de nombreux concerts de musique médiévale, notamment par le biais du groupe Aurora Borealis. 

 

 

 

date

di 1 mars 2020 | 17:00

Billetterie en ligne

INFORMATIONS PRATIQUES

TARIFS

Plein Tarif : 25.-

Adhérents ADEM, AMR, SAMEG, Barbier-Mueller, ONU, professionnels, étudiants, apprentis, chômeurs, AVS/AI, carte côté Courrier : 20.-

Carte 20 ans/20 francs : 15.-

BILLETTERIE
www.adem.ch

AUTRES POINTS DE VENTE
Service culturel Migros Genève
Stand Info Balexert
Migros Nyon-La Combe

Sur place, 1 heure avant le début des représentations


RENSEIGNEMENTS
T : +41 (0) 22 919 04 94
info@adem.ch

 

ALHAMBRA

10, Rue de la Rôtisserie - Genève

BAR ET RESTAURATION
Saveurs du Monde

 

Concert enregistré par Espace 2

A voir aussi