ateliers
d'ethnomusicologie

Introduction to Kalarippayatt - September 6th, 2020

Heidi Rasmussen

Asia | Dance

Kalarippayatt is, according to legend, the ancestor of martial arts. It comprises of exercises specifically designed for a complete mastery of the body, techniques for armed and bare handed combat, and therapeutic massages based on the knowledge of vital points (marmas). It is anchored in Kathakali training and is practiced in theatre schools throughout Southern India.

Kalarippayatt involves breathing, warm up and stretching exercises, as well as great variety of postures inspired by animal movements (lion, elephant, cat, serpent and so on).

The infinite combinations of these positions evoke a dance of a grace and strength, the practice of which is simultaneously energizing and relaxing, stimulating and balancing, both physically and psychologically.

During this introductory day, we will begin with breathing, stretching and warm up exercises through diverse movements and leg lifts (kalugal). Then we will discover the animal postures and their combinations (ashtavadivu).

The class is open to all and you do not need to be at a particular level, although the practice of yoga, dance or a martial art is an advantage.  Teaching will take into account the different individual levels.

Bio

Heidi Rasmussen has been practicing Kalari-Ayurvedic massage since 2006. She travels to Kerala every year to enhance her knowledge.

His teaching is particularly oriented towards the aspects of health, well-being and balance of kalarippayatt. She has also been practicing yoga since she was 13 years old. She has always been passionate about India and its treasures of culture, philosophy and medicine.

PLACE:
Ateliers d'ethnomusicologie - 10, rue Montbrillant - 1201 Geneva

TIMETABLE :

Friday, 17h15-18h45

FEES :
30 frs per lesson : 100 frs / month 
ADEM's members : 110 frs / month  +  ADEM's inscription : 50 chf/year

CONTACT :
T : +41 (0) 76 397 23 89
Email: haidiras@sunrise.ch

Site internet : http://devananda.ch

Discover other classes

ateliers
d'ethnomusicologie

KALARIPPAYATT

HEIDI RASMUSSEN

Asie | Stages

Apparenté au yoga et à la médecine ayurvédique, le Kalarippayatt est un art martial énergétique basé sur la respiration, la décontraction, la souplesse, l’équilibre, l’agilité et la tonicité du corps. D’origine tantrique, il unit le feu de l’esprit masculin à la fluidité de l’énergie féminine. Il est la base de l'entraînement du Katakhali et est pratiqué dans les écoles de théâtre du Sud de l'Inde.

Le Kalarippayatt comprend des exercices de respiration, d’échauffement et d’assouplissement, ainsi qu’une grande variété de postures inspirées des mouvements d’animaux (lion, éléphant, sanglier, chat, serpent, paon…).

Les innombrables combinaisons de ces figures évoquent une danse faite d’un mélange unique de grâce et de puissance, dont la pratique procure des effets à la fois énergisants et apaisants, stimulants et harmonisants, tant sur le plan physique que psychique. Des bénéfices secondaires tels qu’une plus grande fluidité psychique, une meilleure résistance au stress, un sentiment de confiance en soi et une concentration accrues en sont retirés.

Durant cette journée, nous aborderons des exercices de respiration, d'étirement et d'échauffement sous forme de divers types de déplacements et de projection de jambe (kalugal). Puis nous découvrirons les postures animales et leurs conjugaisons (ashtavadivu).

Le stage est ouvert à tous et ne nécessite pas de niveau particulier. Un long voyage commence toujours par un premier pas! Chaque personne emprunte un chemin différent, et l'enseignement tient compte des différences individuelles.

Pique-nique canadien (plutôt léger) à midi pour ceux qui désirent rester et échanger durant la pause.

Bio

Heidi Rasmussen pratique le kalarippayatt et le massage kalari-ayurvédique depuis 2006. Elle se rend chaque année au Kerala pour approfondir ses connaissances.

Son enseignement est particulièrement orienté vers les aspects de santé, de bien-être et d'équilibre du kalarippayatt. Elle pratique également le yoga depuis l'âge de 13 ans. Art-thérapeute de formation, elle se passionne depuis toujours pour l'Inde et ses trésors de culture, de philosophie et de médecine.

LIEU:
Ateliers d'ethnomusicologie - 10, rue Montbrillant - 1201 Genève

HORAIRES :
Dimanche 26 septembre et 31 octobre


TARIF :
Dimanche : 10h à 12h et 14h à 16h30 (4h30) : 85 frs (75 frs membres ADEM)

CONTACT :
T : +41 (0) 76 397 23 89
Email: haidiras@sunrise.ch

Site internet : http://devananda.ch

découvrez d'autres cours